“I do not think it is beautiful to be ‘like’ something or someone. I think it is only beautiful to be who you are.”

That is what Fabrice said to me yesterday when I stepped into his Soho salon for a bang trim. Fabrice Gili, Creative Director for Frederic Fekkai. I felt butterflies. I have never heard these words, but that is what he said when I told him that I would be writing for VIE this summer and that maybe we should do something to my hair that would transform me into a cooler, hipper version of Soho-Beach chic.

I thought Fabrice would be excited, but he looked confused. He set his scissors aside to bend down and look me straight in the eyes. He spoke slowly, with intention, as if he knew I didn’t know, “I don’t understand this. I do not believe that this is what makes a woman beautiful. I do not think it is beautiful to be ‘like’ something or someone. I think it is only beautiful to be who you are.”

Fabrice is hot and his French accent is thick, sexy and confident. In high school, we invented a secret code to signal the hot guy alert. It’s called a 2125. The secret code is easy, you just assign number to each letter of the alphabet, like this:

A=1, B=2, C=3, D=4, E=5, F=6, G=7 and so on.

You can apply this formula to any word, but BABE in numbers looks like this:

B=2

A=1

B=2

E=5

Fabrice Gili, the ultimate 2125. I was so enraptured that I couldn’t process his words until he left me for another head of hair, but he had already changed me. Fabrice had given me permission to be me. Anne, as-is.

“Je ne pense pas il est beau pour être comme quelque chose ou quelqu’un, je pensent qu’il est beau pour être qui vous êtes.”

It feels like this to be who you are: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fR9B3W9Bax0.

